Skip to content
March 13, 2012 / An Anthology of Clouds

The Pancake Nonpariel

The Pancake Nonpariel

This crepey, eggy, toasty, powdered-sugary wonder was “The Pancake Nonpariel” from my childhood. It puffs up hugely in the oven, though with my recipe, unfortunately, flattens upon removal. My childhood memory of it is of my mom calling me and my brother repeatedly to peek at it in the oven while cooking and exclaim over its puffy, billowy heights. Hers didn’t rise all in one dome, but in a series of air bubbles, and bubbles-atop-bubbles that were a miracle to behold. Or maybe I was very small.

I made this this weekend off of Melissa Clark’s from In the Kitchen with A Good Appetite, but am turning out to be not a fan of her recipes (see my review of the cookbook here). The following recipe is the one I’m going to try next.

3 tbs butter
3 eggs
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp nutmeg (optional)
large pinch of salt or to taste
1 tbs confectioners sugar
juice from 1/2 lemon

1. Preheat the oven to 425
2. Put the butter in a ten-inch cast iron skillet and put it in the oven to melt.
3. Beat the eggs really well in a bowl, then beat in the milk, flour, nutmeg and salt
4. Pour the batter into the pan with the melted butter, bake until the pancake is puffy and browned, 20-25 minutes.
5. Serve topped with powdered sugar and lemon juice.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Eileen / Mar 15 2012 3:50 am

    Dutch baby! Hooray! I haven’t had one of those in years. It looks wonderful!

  2. ivalleria / Mar 15 2012 8:37 pm

    I know! I remembered them one day from the deep depths of childhood food memories and was like, must. have.

Leave a Reply

