Skip to content
February 20, 2012 / An Anthology of Clouds

The Porridge Baby: New Trick for Breakfast

The Baby Bullet

This is the Baby Bullet blender, which I love. I am about to pulverize some oatmeal in it.

This is the oatmeal, after a few seconds in the blender.

Here is something I learned (indirectly) from a baby. Whole rolled oats pulverized in the blender for a few pulses before being cooked are really, really delicious. I cook the resulting oats in 50/50 water and whole milk, and the result is so sweet and delicate, it could go without salt or any fruit. I am finding that maple syrup is too strong a flavor for this porridge baby. I add applesauce, because that’s what I have on hand at the moment, but homemade pear puree would probably be the best.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lanceblair / Feb 26 2012 3:49 am

    This sounds excellent. I have pulverized cooked oats and served them with pear (that is good) or apple puree combined with a touch of yogurt, and that has been decent. I haven’t tried cooking it with 50/50 water/whole-milk which should give it the sweetness it needs.

    • ivalleria / Feb 26 2012 4:13 pm

      and i should try yogurt. we’re having issues because adeline, of course, does not like the “new” porridge and prefers hers cooked with water. thanks for commenting!

  2. lanceblair / Feb 27 2012 2:39 pm

    You’re welcome! Another trick with yogurt or oatmeal in general (or both together) is honey and cinnamon added to either. I’ve even done just a bit of straight-up pulverized oatmeal (even dry) and added cinnamon and honey to make the applesauce have a bit more to it. Letting it sit a bit in the applesauce gets the oatmeal to a nice texture…like a cereal bar you can eat with a spoon!

  3. ivalleria / Feb 27 2012 5:21 pm

    Yum! Do you make your own applesauce? I’ve been trying but it hasn’t turned out that good. My mother says the secret is to use Cortland apples.

  4. lanceblair / Mar 2 2012 6:25 am

    No, I haven’t made my own. Anything from a jar that is darker in colour and organic is okay in my book…and Courtland apples would seem like an excellent pick.

Leave a Reply

